Selfishness and independence

Posted on February 16, 2011

1


I enjoy my day time work – I’m by turn consultant, teacher, guide and advisor.

It’s time consuming work – I have to shape my domestic arrangements around irregular hours and a congested diary. My social and sex life lingers even further behind that.

I work hard not to make myself sound like a victim. I’m not. I love my work, and my independence that comes from having a pretty unique role in a large organization.

It’s actually a selfish attitude on my part, and a selfish way of existing.

At the same time though it’s a little self defeating – I can’t be as good a friend as I’d like to be because of my selfishness, and my need for independence on my own terms.

Knowing what I do about myself now  my history of failed relationships shouldn’t be a huge surprise.

Posted in: Thinking