Just a hobby

Posted on February 23, 2011

0


I used to be a barman.

One of our customers was a dysfunctional drunk. Not an amiable drunk, or a binge drinking drunk, but a dysfunctional no use to neither man nor beast drunk.

He was also a talented artist, and philosophically inclined.

One day I asked him about his disastrous, drunkard lifestyle.

He looked back at me, and through me, as if I’d offended his aesthetic sensibilities, honed by and belonging to that era when gothic was an architectural style not a fashion trend for misfits, a time when High Anglicanism did not mean the vicar was having a few puffs of bush behind the vestry.

Finally he got his words out.

‘It’s just a hobby.’

I am a man who has a sex life. It’s fun, exciting, intriguing and different (for me at least, though I like to think the other people have fun too). It’s not  a lifestyle. It does not define me. It’s just a hobby.

So that’s what this new project is going to be; just a hobby.

It’s a consequence of the fun I’ve had with a more confessional blog. There are things in that blog that I don’t want to share with a general audience. But there are also things that are more extroverted, more clearly in need of an audience.

So watch for updates here about the new blogging project.

Posted in: Thinking